Friday, May 25, 2012

Quick Notes: Mad Season, A Place to Bury Strangers, Marriages + More

*[] A live Mad Season reunion of sorts took place at the Showbox in Seattle, WA last night, May 23rd. The performance was part of Pearl Jam‘s “Flight To Mars” benefit shows.

It saw original Mad Season members Mike McCready (Pearl Jam) and Barrett Martin (Screaming Trees) joined by Loaded‘s Jeff Rouse on vocals (in place of the late Layne Staley); and Rick Friel (The Rockfords) on bass (in place of the late John Baker Saunders.)

You can watch fan-filmed footage of the four performing Mad Season‘s “River Of Deceit” at the show below:

*[] New York noise rockers A Place to Bury Strangers recreate the movie Drive with a bit of a Grindhouse twist in the music video for “You Are The One”. While that film already had plenty of visceral fight scenes and trendy jackets, APTBS’ version feels less romantic and glimmery, doing away with subtlety and making this a sadistic tale where baseball bat beatdowns and lovemaking are the same gory experience. Still, like its predecessor, it’s got the perfect soundtrack for doing terrible things to other people. Watch it below (via APTBS’ third album, Worship, hits stores on June 26th via Dead Oceans.

*[] Russian Circles‘ forthcoming August U.S. tour will now feature both Chelsea Wolfe and Marriages (Red Sparowes). Dates for the trek are due to be revealed soon.

*[] With its signal flare riffs, interlocking rhythms and rumbling, eyes-on-the-stratosphere majesty, "Limbs"-- the lead-off track from D.C. experimental punk trio Imperial China's third album, How We Connect-- sounds like Mirrored-era Battles covering "Cherub Rock" at a space shuttle launch. Matt Johnson and Brian Porter's dueling guitars spit blowtorch sparks, as Patrick Gough's frantic drumming drives the track's escalating energy. Like any band making punk music in D.C., Imperial China's sound pays subtle respect to its local forbearers; you can hear traces of Fugazi in Porter's hollered vocals ("Think I'll live forever!"). But those comparisons only go so far. As the intrepid energy of "Limbs" affirms, Imperial China are charting a course for some as-yet-unexplored piece of the sky.

*[] Following its limited edition “Record Store Day” release, Anywhere‘s (The Mars Volta, Minutemen, Triclops, etc.) self-titled debut will officially make its way to U.S. stores on July 24th through ATP Recordings.

*[press release] Seattle's Night Beats and Costa Mesa, CA's TRMRS release new music on a split 7" that is out now. Night Beats' new song "Messiah" is a slow swirling dirge of garage psychedelia while TRMRS' "Good Time Blues" is a bluesy fuzzed-out surf rock nugget. A co-release between Volcom Entertainment and Resurrection Records, the split 7" is limited to 1000 copies. Artwork by Dusty Dirtweed.

Volcom Ent Vinyl Club (VEVC) is an annual - 6 release - subscription based split 7inch vinyl series that is currently in its fifth year, with a Melvins/Totimoshi split, and a Kurt Vile, Wino and Jennifer Herrema collaboration already out this year. Future 2012 VEVC releases include a Nu Sensae/Useless Eaters split and a CSC Fuck Band/Grant Phabao Afrofunk Arkestra split.

1 comment:

orionbates said...

Explode this!!

Surf Rock in Copenhagen, Denmark
shot on the last Kodachrome video, frame by frame!

El Ray & the Kodachrome wipeout