Monday, October 19, 2009

Fu Manchu Preview "Gargantuan March" has received the following press release:

Southern California's heavy fuzz rock legends FU MANCHU will release its eleventh full length album, Signs Of Infinite Power on October 20, 2009 (tomorrow) via Century Media Records. Recorded at Maple Studios in Santa Ana, California by the band and producer Sergio Chavez (MOTÖRHEAD, HELMET) and mixed by Andrew Alekel (FOO FIGHTERS, DANZIG), Signs Of Infinite Power could well be dubbed “a reawakening” of Fu Manchu as the record delivers monstrous doses of the group’s punk energy, hard rock drive and psychedelic crunch in spades.

A sneak peak at what Signs Of Infinite Power holds in store can be experienced today as the new Fu Manchu song 'Gargantuan March' has been posted online courtesy of Guitar World. Check out the heaviness now at THIS location. A 30 second “teaser” clip for the new album has also been posted to the band’s newly refashioned MySpace page and it can be seen HERE.

Tuesday night in San Jose, CA, Fu Manchu will launch the first leg of its U.S. Signs Of Infinite Power headlining tour. The scheduled 3 week trek will feature support from North Carolina’s ASG and the Los Angeles duo It’s Casual. On the fall trek, Fu Manchu will have a special tour-only 7” record available for fans. Strictly limited to 1,000 copies, the 7" vinyl EP will contain the new single 'Bionic Astronautics' b/w a cover of the early '80s punk band JFA’s 'Beach Blanket Bongout'. This 7” will be the second release on the band's own At The Dojo Records. A full listing of upcoming FU MANCHU tour dates follows this message.

Originally formed in 1985 as a BLACK FLAG-influenced hardcore punk band called VIRULENCE, Fu Manchu has since become one of hard rock’s most celebrated names. The band released its first single 'Kept Between Trees' in 1990 and in the years following, helped give rise to a celebrated style of heavy music tagged “stoner rock” alongside peers such as KYUSS, MONSTER MAGNET and SLEEP. In celebration of its 20th anniversary, Fu Manchu will unveil a host of plans that include rolling out one-of-a-kind live events and special vinyl only releases. Additionally, the Virulence (pre-Fu Manchu) recordings will be remastered and packaged with the band’s “1985-87 demos” and both live songs and video footage from 1987-89 under the title, If This Isn't A Dream…1985-1989. The package will be made available on both CD and LP and is slated for a winter 2009 release via Southern Lord Records.

Fu Manchu tour dates:

20 - San Jose, CA - The Blank Club
21 - San Francisco, CA - Bottom Of The Hill
23 - Portland, OR - Dante's
24 - Seattle, WA - Neumo's
26 - Salt Lake City, UT - Club Vegas
28 - Denver, CO - Larimer Lounge
30 - Minneapolis, MN - Triple Rock
31 - Chicago, IL - Double Door

2 - Lawrence, KS - Jackpot
4 - Dallas, TX - The Door
5 - Houston, TX - Red Room
6 - Austin, TX - Red Seven
8 - Albuquerque, NM - Launch Pad
11 - Los Angeles, CA - Troubadour

No comments: